George E. Yoos Distinguished Service Award

The George E. Yoos Distinguished Service Award is presented biennially to a member of the Society who has made significant and sustained contributions to RSA and to the field. The award is named in honor of George Yoos, a founding member of RSA, who served as founding editor of the Rhetoric Society Quarterly from 1975-1986 and as Executive Secretary from 1986-1995. Winners of the George E. Yoos Award, which automatically confers the status of Fellow, meet the criteria for Rhetoric Society Fellows and have made sustained contributions to the RSA which have improved the organization.

Deadline for nominations: February 16, 2018.

Nominations should include (1) a letter describing the specific contributions of a nominee that explains why this person merits the award, and (2) a copy of the nominee's CV. Nominations should be sent to:  

Vanessa B. Beasley
Vanderbilt University
The Ingram Commons, 230
Appleton Place, PMB 621
Nashville, TN 37203

Email queries and electronic nomination materials are welcome at